Recipe: Low Fat (I’m assuming) Slow Cooker Chili

19 Jun

I suppose it makes sense that because I love to eat so much, I also love to cook. I’ve decided to spend a little blog space sharing some of my favorite things to cook, most of which are super easy and not overly time consuming. Below is my first “recipe” to share – you’ll notice that I follow measurement rules pretty loosely.

Slow Cooker Chili
I use bison meat (which is super delicious f you’ve never tried it) and ground turkey, which is why I’m giving it the low fat label – both these meats are definitely better for you than beef, so happy chili-ing.

1 lb bison
1/2 lb ground turkey
1 can kidney beans (or pinto beans or whatever kind of beans you like)
1 or 2 cups onion, diced (depending on how much you like onions)
1 tomato, diced
1 large can crushed tomato
1 small can tomato paste
pepper
salt
garlic powder
cumin
chili powder
red pepper flakes
paprika

Brown the two kinds of meat together and combine it with all the other ingredients in the slow cooker. I never really measure the spices – I just put in what I assume is enough (if this is new for you, you might want to low ball it a little) and then taste it frequently as it cooks. I add a little more of whatever tastes good as I go. You’ll figure it out, don’t worry. Cook it in the slow cooker on high for an hour or two, then turn it down and cook for three or four hours more. The longer it simmers, the better it tastes.

I usually serve it with lots of extra sharp cheddar and tortilla chips (which I guess probably negates the low fat business from earlier). Yums.

One Response to “Recipe: Low Fat (I’m assuming) Slow Cooker Chili”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Patriots are going to the Super Bowl and I made wings. Everybody’s a winner. « The Money Bite - January 24, 2012

    […] way to try to keep everyone calm was to cook and I made lots of deliciousness. I started with the slow cooker chili that I love so much. It was a snowy weekend here and it seemed like a perfect opportunity to break […]

Leave a Reply

